Quantum Mechanics on Laakso Spaces


Christopher Kauffman, Robert Kesler, Amanda Parshall, Evelyn Stamey, and Benjamin Steinhurst


This group first reviewed the spectrum of the Laplacian operator on a general Laakso space before considering modified Hamiltonians for the infinite square well, parabola, and Coulomb potentials. Additionally, they computed the spectrum for the Laplacian and its multiplicities when certain regions of a Laakso space are compressed or stretched and calculated the Casimir force experienced by two uncharged conducting plates by imposing physically relevant boundary conditions and then analytically regularizing the resulting zeta function. Lastly, they derived a general formula for the spectral zeta function and its derivative for Laakso spaces with strict self-similar structure before listing explicit spectral values for some special cases.
See also B. Steinhurst, Dirichlet Forms on Laakso and Barlow-Evans Fractals of Arbitrary Dimension arXiv:0811.1378


AIP | Journal of Mathematical Physics